Connect with Ronn

The True Lover's Farewell

The majority of pieces on this disc come from the 1932 publication of English Folk Songs from the Southern Appalachians, collected by Cecil J. Sharp, edited by Maud Karpeles, and published in two volumes by Oxford University Press in London; four songs are from the collection of Fletcher Collins, Staunton, Virginia; three were drawn from sources in Bertrand H. Bronson's Traditional Tunes of the Child Ballads, published in four volumes by Princeton University Press, 1959-1973. The song that I call Turtledove, was collected by Alan Lomax. - Custer LaRue


March 28, 1995


  1. Turtledove
  2. Fair Margaret and Sweet William (Child No. 74)
  3. Gypsen Davey
  4. Arise, Arise, You Slumbering Sleeper
  5. Soldier Boy for Me
  6. Lord Bateman
  7. Berayna
  8. The Outlandish Knight
  9. Lady Gay (The Wife of Usher's Well) (Child No. 79)
  10. Johnny Home from Sea
  11. Charlie's Sweet
  12. Earl Brand (Child No. 7)
  13. The Lady and the Dragon
  14. The Nightingale
  15. The Rebel Soldier
  16. The True Lover's Farewell
Share this on
Previous Album Next Album