Connect with Ronn

Live in Concert

What better way to enjoy the Baltimore Consort than live, and in a building perfectly suited to their fabulous catalog of early music. Take a journey back in time with a visit to the First Scots Presbyterian Church in Charleston, S.C., during the Piccolo Spoleto Festival for the location of this live recording. Surrounded by the ghosts of Scottish Presbyterians (whose congregation dates to 1731), the musicians and their audience felt a spiritual connection to the past. They also enjoyed the very lively sequence of tunes that fans of the Baltimore Consort know so well. The Baltimore Consort are regular performers at Piccolo Spoleto and this live album highlights the 2007 series. Coming together in Charleston allowed the group to play, within a single week, four or five different programs drawn from its repertory of old tunes, polished like tumbled rock through the years, as well as to explore new (old) music for future touring. Recording with them for the first time is a gifted soprano, Danielle Svonavec, and re-appearing after a 17-year hiatus is Mindy Rosenfeld, whose flute playing graced their fist seven seasons.


October 14, 2008


  1. The gowans are gay
  2. Adew Dundee
  3. Kathren Oggie
  4. Through the Wood, Laddie
  5. Pentland Hills
  6. The dark is my delight
  7. The English Dancing Master: The Shaking of the Sheets
  8. Intabolatura de lauto, Book 4: Saltarello
  9. Piva
  10. Galliard d'escosse
  11. Liber Primus Leviorum Carminum: Laroque Galliard
  12. The English Dancing Master: All in a Garden Green
  13. Musick's Delight on the Cithren, Restored and Refined: John come kisse me now
  14. The English Dancing Master: Newcastle
  15. Lord Ronald (Lord Randal)
  16. The Queen's Treble
  17. Green grows the rashes
  18. Fantasia
  19. Trattado de glosas: Recercada primera sobre el passemezzo antico (arr. for chamber ensemble)
  20. Balletti: A lieta vita
  21. On the banks of Helicon
  22. Tiers livre de danseries: Les Bouffons: Les Bouffons
Share this on
Previous Album Next Album